top of page

Exercise: Expansion of the Square

These were the starting of the exercise. I tried with symmetry and asymmetry in these.

The symmetry was done too. The important thing we must remember while doing symmetry was making the both side of the square same size.

The asymmetry was here. This time I put colour into the square to let it looked more different.

Besides that, I also tried different kind of version for the square. I actually use printmaking method and watercolour to do the square.

These were the squares I had chosen from the square that I had made from the old one. I enlarge them and used tracing paper to trace it out into the watercolour paper. I am not master in watercolour so can obviously seen that the skills aren't good enough. However I still trying my best to do it well. The first image was two square overlapping each other. I use two enlarged squares and used two colours, each for one. After colouring it, it will have some layers in the square.

The printmaking method was quite pretty for the square. I used the mono print method to do these and I quite like the first one. For some i used two colours and two squares as well.

Making these taking me a lot of time to do due to the cut and paste.However, when the outcome of the square was so amazing that actually made yourself feel proud and happy.


bottom of page